Laptop Tray Makeover

A rainy day here in Southern California, is a wonderful, yet rare occurrence. Today is just one of those dreary-but-great-to-stay-indoors kinda day.  So I grabbed a cup of tea and a few wafer cookies, and sat on my bed writing this post.

20150902_125715

A few months ago, while visiting a friend who recently moved to a beach town on the Central Coast, I spotted this laptop tray at one of the local antique shops.  It was in great condition with just a few stains, which didn’t matter, because I was going to paint over it.

20150903_111049

I painted the wooden tray with a fresh coat of ASCP in Old White and French Linen. When the paint dried, I added grain sack stripes using blue acrylic paint I had on hand.

20150907_145601

I added beautiful graphics from The Graphics Fairy.  I found a plate stand with a delicious-looking dessert, as well as a cutlery set.  I printed the graphics on freezer paper using my ink jet printer, taped the transfer in place, and burnished the ink using the back of a large spoon. The next day I applied wax to the entire tray and wiped away the excess with a dry clean cloth, creating a nice matte shine.

After Tray Upcycle

The laptop tray is great for working on the computer, reading a book,

20160119_141051

or writing some notes — all while sitting in or on my bed.

20160119_142116-1

3 thoughts on “Laptop Tray Makeover

Leave a Reply

