Repurposed Vintage Suitcase

20151215_114540

This overly shy, vintage suitcase sat in my closet for over two years.  She waited patiently for a partner so she could become stylish storage.

20151229_103344

The day finally arrived when she set her eyes on this vintage wooden luggage rack.  It was love at first sight, capturing his heart with a ruffly glance.  However, before their relationship could progress, she had to get a makeover.  After all, it’s not just everyday you find your perfect match.

20151229_143356

Using a small sponge roller, she was painted with DecoArt’s Chalky Finish paint in the color, Timeless, a soft, creamy very light beige.  It went on smoothly, covering all her rough edges and curves. [While the paint dried, her new found love received his own salon treatment with a quick coat of the same chalky paint.]

20151229_114136

Then it was time to add a design element to her new look.  She chose the classic look of feedsack stripes, using the stencil from Maison de Stencils.

20151230_125402

Just a light spouncing (yes, that’s a word) with DecoArt’s chalky finish paint in Serene & Legacy gave her a pretty glow.

20151230_130548

Do you like her new look?

20160108_143729

20151230_134840-1

Here she is in all her glory, ready to be used as a side table…

20160108_141653

or fashionable storage.  Either way, she relies heavily on his strong sturdy legs for support.

20160108_141949

No matter what the occasion, this new couple is ready to paint the town red!

20151230_152757-1

20160108_141653Who knows?  They may even plan a trip together in the near future.

I’m so excited that this project is the February Feature of the Month at Vintage Charm!

grab button for Thrifty Rebel Vintage

This project is also featured at this party: Wake Up Wednesday Linky

You may find me partying here and  Coastal Charm, My Thrift Store Addiction and Share Your Cup Thursday.

 

24 thoughts on “Repurposed Vintage Suitcase

  1. Pingback: Vintage Charm #19
  2. Wow! I love this!! I love anything grains sack. I always tape off. Thinking I need that stencil. You did a great job! I’d love if you shared this with our link party, Share Your Cup Thursday.
    hugs,
    Jann

    Like

  3. I remember my mother having a suitcase just like that! The way you painted it and put it on the stand is just perfect. Love the way you painted it.

    Thank you so much for joining Thoughts of Home on Thursday. We are so happy to have a creative beautiful project like this included.

    Like

  4. I never thought about painting a vintage suitcase but it looks great and is so clever! I am a bit late in visiting due to it being college finals week for me but I am so very happy you joined Thought of Home on Thursday and shared this delightful gem.

    Like

  5. This is so sweet! I love the pop of pink inside and the grain sack stripes are a nice touch! I hope you have a great day! If you are at all interested in joining in on one more link party I host Making Broken Beautiful every Thursday thru Sunday. It is a furniture and home decor party and i’d be so happy to host your inspiring work! I hope you have a great day!
    Smiles!
    Terry
    http://thecuratorscollection.wordpress.com
    Making Broken Beautiful

    Like

  6. This is really adorable. I love how you painted it and turned it into a table while at the same time leaving the option opened for storage.

    Like

  7. I love this! I have been wanting to make a table out of a suitcase forever. Love the addition of the grainsack stripe. I plan on putting a stripe on curtains for my dining room redo. I would love to get the one you feature…..can you tell me how wide the pattern is without the thin stripe on either side? I think I could use the inside three stripes for my curtains. I was going to do the tape method but this would be so much easier!

    Like

  8. I am so excited to find this post at Julie’s Lifestyle party! My story is exactly the same as yours and now I can complete my vision because of this great post! I bought a wonderful vintage suitcase to sell but the shipping was so ridiculously high that I never listed it. It has been sitting in my basement waiting for me to do something with it. I have wanted to make one of these side tables/storage pieces out of it but never found a suitcase rack until this past weekend! I now have all the parts to make it. I had seen the feedsack stripe stencil before but didn’t want to commit to the price. This time when I clicked on your link, there it is at 40% off! I ordered it immediately for the suitcase and for curtains I will be making for my dining room makeover. Can you tell I am excited??!! I love how yours turned out.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi AnnMarie,
      Love your comment! Please send me a photo of your suitcase project and curtains when you’re finished. I’m so glad I inspired you. Hope you’ll come back and visit often.

      Like

  9. Love your repurposed suitcase, I am a lover of stripes! I see lots of suitcases here on sale at flea markets, but any suitcase rack. It’s a shame because it looks so cool together!

    Thanks for sharing with us at Sweet Inspiration party!! I hope you have a wonderful week!!

    Hugs,

    Pili

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Pingback: L'USINE

Leave a Reply

