Jewelry Box Transformation

20160304_122751

This old jewelry box was gathering dust on a shelf in the garage.  I picked it up at a local thrift shop for $10 several years ago.  It has great bones and is in perfect condition–except for the dirty velvet interior.

20160304_122914-1

It finally got some much needed TLC, starting with the removal of the ugly velvet fabric lining.  This wasn’t as easy as it looked, though.  I think it was adhered with cement glue!  It took a lot of scraping and tearing to remove it all.  At this point, I would’ve usually shown you a photo of the messy torn velvet fabric, but take my word for it, it wasn’t pretty.

In the end, all the sweat was well worth the mess.  Once cleaned out, I painted this box using ASCP in Old White.  I added a Parisian stencil by DecoArt titled “Paris Cafe,” using DecoArt chalky paint in the color Carbon [black].  Then I gently distressed it, finishing it off with ASCP clear wax.

20160304_201925

I also stenciled just part of the same design to the inside lid, and lined the drawers and bottom of the box with beautiful coordinating scrapbook paper I had on hand.

20160315_180851

20160315_180759

I love the new look of the old jewelry box, and now it can be used to store rubber stamps, other craft supplies or even make-up.  What would you store in it?

Sharing at some fun linky parties including these and Coastal Charm

3 thoughts on “Jewelry Box Transformation

  1. Ok! Ok now I know what to do with the 18 of these I inherited from my gramma! I wanted to do something for my three nieces so now I know what to do! Treasure and trinket boxes!!! Thanks for the design inspiration yet again!

    Like

Leave a Reply

