My Newest Obsession: JB Makeovers

Excuses, excuses…but hear me out. I have a good excuse for not keeping my blog current: we moved! After living in Southern California for 35 years, we retired, and moved back to Northern California, where it all began. That’s the short story.

And now onto my new obsession: Jewelry Box Makeovers. Here is my first “JB” transformation.

With our move, my storage options for furniture hoarding  finds is limited. So after finding several jewelry boxes at the local thrift stores, I decided to try my hand at transforming these. If you look closely, some of them resemble mini dressers.

This is the box before the makeover:

20170509_110622

And this is the box after its makeover:

IMG_20170603_161648_723

I painted the box with ASCP Chalk Paint in Old White and Americana Decor Chalky Paint in Delicate, a soft, buttery yellow.  Since I am a detail fanatic, I removed the necklace holder so I could paint  the bar underneath it. Warning: Be sure to use the correct sized screwdriver when working with those little, tiny screws. I didn’t have one handy, so I used a regular sized screwdriver to replace the holder, and inadvertently gouged my thumb instead of tightening the little bugger. You’re welcome for not showing you that photo. It took an hour to stop the bleeding, and I avoided a night visit to the ER. And now back to the makeover.

I lightly distressed the jewelry box edges with sandpaper, and sealed the whole thing with ASCP Clear Wax, buffing it to a light sheen.

IMG_20170603_160629_429

I also painted the inside drawers, and then decoupaged coordinating grey & yellow floral scrapbook paper to the bottom of the drawers.

20170603_161027

To add detail to the sides of the box, I stamped pretty flourishes using black Staz-on ink. And to finish the box, I created a stencil with my Silhouette Cameo with the phrase, “Girls Should be Two Things: Classy & Fabulous.”

20170603_160257

IMG_20170603_161648_723

Have you tried your hand at jewelry box makeovers? Another warning: these are addicting! I plan to sell these on my social media sites. If you’re interested in purchasing this beauty, leave me a comment and you’ll get first dibs.

Featured! AnswerisChoc

 

 

4 thoughts on “My Newest Obsession: JB Makeovers

    1. I’ve had those stencils forever! They are from Autumn Leaves (Do not know if the company is still active) and are acrylic stamps. Thanks for following my blog.

      Like

Leave a Reply

